Restaurant Awards

Inside the 2018 Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Awards

The food world’s biggest night of the year was held at Chin Chin Sydney on 23 August 2017, and brought with it plenty to celebrate.
Loading the player...

The food world’s biggest night of the year was held at Chin Chin Sydney on 23 August 2017, with the generous support of Vittoria Coffee, Santa Vittoria and Ilve Appliances. The evening brought with it plenty to celebrate: from the top honours of Restaurant of the Year and Chef of the Year to a brand new Restaurant Guide and magazine redesign. Take a look at some of the party scenes.

Pat Nourse, Gourmet Traveller Restaurant Guide chief critic, and Sarah Oakes, Gourmet Traveller editor.

Chin Chin executive chef Graeme Hunt, owner Chris Lucas and head chef Benjamin Cooper.

Santa Vittoria beverages and the new-look September issue of Gourmet Traveller.

Tom Pash, CEO, and Neil Perry, chief brand and culinary officer, Rockpool Dining Group.

Julie and Josh Niland of Saint Peter.

Atlas Dining chef Charlie Carrington, Chris Lucas and Pat Nourse.

Kate and Cameron Reid of Lune Croissanterie.

Brae restaurant manager Simon Freeman and chef Dan Hunter.

Quay and Bennelong chef Peter Gilmore.

Automata’s Clayton Wells and Dan Hong of Merivale.

Josh Lewis and Astrid McCormack, Fleet.

Sweet Envy’s Alistair Wise and Gourmet Traveller senior food editor Lisa Featherby.

Vittoria CEO Les Schirato AM and managing director Rolando Schirato.

Pat Nourse and Sarah Oakes.

Tuna, pink grapefruit and chilli salad.

Dan Hong chats with guests.

Paul Dykzeul, CEO, Bauer Media.

Spiced black pudding with oak leaf, crab-head nahm prik and basil.

Momofuku Seiobo maître d’ Kylie Javier Ashton and Aria chef Matt Moran.

Entrées on the pass at Chin Chin Sydney.

Ronni Kahn, CEO, OzHarvest.

Merivale CEO Justin Hemmes and Billy Kwong chef Kylie Kwong.

Orana chef Jock Zonfrillo and Sarah Oakes.

Igni’s Aaron Turner and Joanna Smith took home the award for Regional Restaurant of the Year.

Sommelier Caitlyn Rees and chef Danielle Alvarez of Fred’s with the award for New Restaurant of the Year.

The evening was also an exclusive look at Chin Chin Sydney, not yet open to the public.

(back) Neil Perry, Bauer Media general manager homes and food, Cornelia Schulze. (front) Emma Sturgiss and Nicole Foster, Tourism Australia.

Floral arrangements at Chin Chin Sydney.

The awards offered an exclusive look at Chin Chin Sydney.

Neil Perry with Sunny and Ross Lusted of The Bridge Room.

Gourmet Traveller‘s Samantha Teague and Maggie Scardifield.

Pat Nourse.

Santa Vittoria Aranciata Rossa Sgroppino with blood-orange sorbet, sparkling wine and Rondò Aperitivo.

Twice-cooked beef short-rib, coconut salad and prik nahm pla.

Kylie Kwong, Danielle Alvarez and Palisa Anderson of Chat Thai.

Ronni Kahn accepts the award for Outstanding Contribution to Hospitality.

Award winners (l-r) Sunny Lusted, Peter Gilmore, Kylie Javier Ashton, Andrew McConnell and Ross Lusted.

Orana’s Jock Zonfrillo accepting the award for Restaurant of the Year.

Jock Zonfrillo with the awards for #1 restaurant in Australia and Restaurant of the Year.

Sam Haroon of Vittoria.

Vittoria espresso.

Related stories